AirPlay mirroring on Raspberry Pi with rPlay

UPDATE(2014-06-16): I’ve reached out to VMLite recently to inquire about the future of rPlay. Unfortunately, there isn’t much to report…I’m told we still have a while to wait before a full version is released, and they’re focusing somewhat on Android capabilities. However, this is a bit previous, and I will email them again to see if I can get more recent news.

Quick notice(2013-09-20): iOS 7 has brought with it some challenges for developers that are affecting rPlay(in addition to the hiccups still remaining on the beta version). I’m having a hard time getting things to work consistently, and several others on the forums are reporting the same.

A friend of mine has been talking about buying an Apple TV lately, mostly so he could use the AirPlay mirroring functionality. Airplay allows you to mimic what’s happening on your recent generation iDevice or Macbook on your TV wirelessly–watch YouTube, show pictures, play music, even ‘mirror’ the screen exactly. I’d heard somewhere that AirPlay was possible with a Raspberry Pi, and started looking into it.

I soon found that many devices will do music and sometimes even YouTube videos over AirPlay, but mirroring is typically only possible on an actual Apple TV. However, I came upon this YouTube video that showed a guy(and his killer accent!) that had pretty recently managed that very thing. The program is called rPlay, from a company called VMLite.

At the time of writing, rPlay is in beta. You’ll need to go to the forums and make a post or e-mail the developers(info@vmlite.com) to request a license key, without which you’ll be unable to use mirroring(though the guys at VMLite informed me other AirPlay functions will work without one!) . I was a bit late to the game, but emailed a request, and within about a day had a key and some basic instructions in my inbox.

I write this tutorial for a couple reasons. First of all, the instructions didn’t cover some common errors. Like me, you’ll likely run into some hiccups and need to do a couple extra things to get everything working. Second, this was my first RPi project, and if you’re in the same boat, you may appreciate a bit of extra info to get you started. This is written from a beginner’s perspective.

Getting your Raspberry Pi running

This section is for those starting at the beginning–first time RPi users. If this doesn’t apply to you, skip ahead. 

I was able to get things started up using this tutorial on Engadget, and I suggest you do the same. However, there’s a couple things I’d like to add.

When securing your power supply, ensure that it’s not only 5V, but also outputs at least 700mA. Your SD card will need to be at least 2GB, and there are lots of reasons to get different types or memory capacities if you want to do a bit of research and decide what your needs are. Also, you technically don’t need the USB mouse if you truly intend to only use the Pi for AirPlay, but odds are you want to tinker more than that. Otherwise, you can pick almost all of it up for $10 or less each online(assuming you don’t have the supplies already, which you likely do). A Model B Pi is recommended for rPlay; VMLite reports it performs much better with it’s larger RAM(512MB vs 256MB on the Model A). However, if you do use a Model A, note that you’ll probably need some extra things, like a USB hub and wi-fi dongle.

I followed most of their guide to install a compatible OS image on your SD card. Their link for the downloads didn’t serve me; I got mine from here, and got the newest Raspbian “wheezy” image. The email instructions I received said rPlay runs on a “dumb terminal.” I wasn’t sure what this meant, but I think rPlay will work with any image you’d like, since you’ll only really need the command line(note that there are some differences in how some images use rPlay!). By the way, I used the torrent option with uTorrent…it made a world of difference for download speed and stability.

(Note: I was using the Mac instructions–the following might be slightly different for Windows or Linux)Later in the process of loading the SD card you’ll need to alter Engadget’s instructions so that the name of your image reflects the name of the image you downloaded, the most recent one, not theirs from 2012-06-15. Also, when they talk about ‘converting’ the name of your disk, that is happening automatically. You don’t have to change the name of anything, they’re merely informing you that it has changed so you can type in the correct things.

After loading the image, I followed their advice on booting for the first time and setting things up. Couple things to note here…first, the layout of the configuration menu has changed, and some features you’ll want to access are layered in the “Internationalization Options” and “Advanced Options” menus. Also, step 2 of ‘getting rPlay running’ can be done while in the config menu now, if you want to get it out of the way. I didn’t continue from where they encouraged you to start the GUI after rebooting; again, you’ll load rPlay with the command line.

Getting rPlay running

You have your RPi running and ready to go…now to get to the good stuff. This will largely be the instructions given to me in an email that included the license key, and all the extra bits I add are mostly tips I got from the rPlay bug fixes on the VMLite forums.

This will all be done from the command line; just type things in. Some steps may not be necessary, but I typically favor doing all that you can to ensure no problems arise along the way.

Note that I’m using the Raspbian image; I’ve been told some steps vary a little. I’ll note ones I’m aware of.

1. Update the firmware of your RPi.

sudo apt-get install rpi-update

sudo rpi-update

This may take a couple minutes, but this step gave me no problems. The first line gets your updater, the second runs it.
Note: “sudo” is a common command line element; it gives unrestricted access to the system when entered before a command, and most things we’re doing won’t work without it.

2. Allocate maximum memory to the GPU.

AirPlay is a graphics intensive function, and you’ll need all hands on deck to run it on your RPi with it’s relatively low computing power. You may have already done this as you were configuring your RPi for the first time; if not, enter the configuration menu with

sudo raspi-config

Go to ‘Advanced Options,’ then ‘Memory Split.’ Delete whatever number was previously there, and allocate 256 for your model B Pi, or 128 for a model A(half the total RAM), and confirm the change. I think I rebooted here even though I don’t think you’re encouraged to; again, I just like to cover my bases.

3. Download some necessary libraries/apps rPlay depends on.

First, load what you’ll need:

sudo apt-get install libao-dev avahi-utils libavahi-compat-libdnssd-dev libva-dev youtube-dl

Then, if the previous command reports no errors, update YouTube:

sudo youtube-dl –update

Here’s where I first ran into problems; I got some “404” errors when running apt-get; I’m not sure any of the dependencies(there’s five there, separated by spaces) properly loaded. If you had problems, try this command:

sudo apt-get -f install

Then try to install the dependencies again. A clue that you need to use this line, besides seeing errors, is that the YouTube update won’t work(you can’t update something you don’t have). I actually had to repeat some things; I thought all was well, but then I’d try to continue and it would say I didn’t have the necessary dependencies, encourage me to use the ‘-f install’ command, etc. If the YouTube update works correctly, you may get a message saying something about how the distribution method had changed; press enter to continue, and it will report that youtube-dl can now be used. You should be ok to continue.

4. Download rPlay and run.

wget -O rplay-1.0.1-armhf.deb http://www.vmlite.com/rplay/rplay-1.0.1-armhf.deb

sudo dpkg -i rplay-1.0.1-armhf.deb

First command is the download, second is the install. Here you’re likely to run into problems if everything from step 3 wasn’t settled. I believe you need to reboot at this point; rPlay is set to auto-start. Note that anytime rPlay starts, you’ll get three warnings from Avahi about not using their native this-and-that…VMLite assures beta testers these are ‘benign’ warnings, and not to worry about it.

5. Validate rPlay with a license key.

Now time to make things legit; mirroring won’t work without validating your RPi to use rPlay(not sure if other AirPlay functions might? I didn’t experiment — Update: I mentioned this before, but the guys at VMLite have told me other features DO work without a license!). You’ll do this on the web, and you can do it on your RPi if you want(use command ‘startx’ to bring up the GUI and use the Midori web browser), but I just did it on my laptop for simplicity. Don’t use Safari for your browser here; VMLite tells me you’ll run into bugs. If you do it on your RPi, replace your RPi’s IP(which is given to you as you boot up, look for it just above the log-in info request) with “localhost.” Type the following URL into your browser:

http://<ip of your RPi>:7100/admin

The username and password are ‘admin.’ Scroll to the bottom where you can enter your key, click submit, and you’ll get a confirmation. If you want you can edit the other options on this admin page. You can also do all this by editing /etc/rplay.conf via the command line with the ‘append’ command. Plus you can be paranoid like me, and reboot…again :)

You’re ready to try it out!

6. Try out AirPlay!

With your RPi ready to go, bust out your iDevice and turn on AirPlay. On iOS 7, you drag your control center up from the bottom, and the AirPlay option should be located on the same line as AirDrop. Select your Pi as the device, and activate mirroring if you want to play with that. In video playing apps, you’ll typically need to select the output device again from within the app to push only the video to the screen(separate from mirroring). Whatever feature you decide to play with, your video and/or sound should be running to whatever is hooked up to your Pi! The method is similar for an iPad or Apple computer. There is some limited support on Android devices as well; they’ll recognize your RPi as a Chromecast(VMLite has also made an iOS app, titled rplay, that will allow your iDevice to act as a Chromecast!).

Troubleshooting Tips

  • For Raspian, AirPlay will function at any time(command line, GUI, etc), but this isn’t universally true. For XBMC images like RaspBMC or Xbian, for example, you’ll need to exit XBMC to the command prompt. Other images may have other requirements.
  • Remember that your RPi and iDevice need to be attached to the same network, in other words, the same router. Most people have a hard time getting things working on school or work networks.
  • In my experience, leaving the range of your wi-fi while your device is still mirroring is a great way to make sure your RPi completely freezes.
  • When I updated to iOS 7, I needed to update all my libraries(sudo apt-get update) and restart rPlay(sudo /etc/init.d/rplay stop; sudo /etc/init.d/rplay start). Prior to this my Pi wasn’t showing up on the AirPlay menu. Even after the fix, things are buggy and sometimes fail. I’m still hunting for a solution to this, and it may come with the next rPlay update.
  • Remember that your Pi will need to have the ethernet and HDMI cables hooked up at boot time. I regularly fiddle with my router, and this has been a frequent annoyance(I can’t figure out why AirPlay refuses to show up for my Pi).

Limitations

As I mentioned, rPlay is in beta. You’re unlikely to see perfect performance. I’ll outline what I was and wasn’t able to accomplish. I originally thought many of my issues were due to the terrible internet in my apartment, but we’ve since gotten a rather good upgrade, and I’ve seen little change.

I was able to get mirroring working pretty well on my iPhone 5. I could definitely notice a delay between what was happening on my phone vs. the screen, but it wasn’t bad. The edges of my iPhone’s screen seemed to be cut off a little on the big screen. Music seemed fine, photos, etc. However, using YouTube and Netflix were laggy and very, very low resolution(I think the bettered internet speed helped the resolution a bit, but there were still syncing problems).

Without mirroring, YouTube via AirPlay worked rather well. You can’t try to navigate around too quickly, you may encounter some issues if you do(possibly including freezing). I couldn’t change the position of the  playback, for example, but I was able to get videos to play mostly without issue(certainly better than over mirroring, no audio/video out of sync problems). No problems viewing native pictures, videos, or playing music. However, Netflix wouldn’t load a video at all(much to my chagrin).

I did a quick experiment to use Chromecast, but wasn’t able to get anything to happen. VMLite acknowledges the Chromecast support is sketchy, but they are actually working on an app that will allow your iDevice to route Chromecast signals from an Android device to AirPlay.

Conclusion

I was pretty pleased when I was able to get things working, and I hope you’re successful too.

I’d love some feedback from others working on this. If you know some ways to fix problems I had, had problems of your own, or just noticed some mistakes or something out of date about my tutorial, please comment and I’ll do my best to keep things accurate.

Hopefully VMLite will continue to improve the rPlay experience and I can continue to report improvement from here on out.

Enjoy your Pi!

95 Comments

Filed under Tech, Tutorials

95 responses to “AirPlay mirroring on Raspberry Pi with rPlay

  1. Matt Lu

    Does the RPi have to be using wireless? I did everything connected via ethernet. rPlay is running. I activated the license using the ethernet IP address. I feel like I’ve followed every step, but I don’t see any Airplay options on my iPad or iPhone.

    • No, you don’t have to be using wireless, but you do have to make sure your Pi and iDevice are on the same network. In other words, your device is using wi-fi from, or it’s ethernet cable is plugged into, the same router the RPi’s ethernet cable is plugged into. I had some troubles with this, especially when I tried to reconfigure another router to act as an ethernet switch.

      Another possibility is that your RPi isn’t properly connected to the internet at all…you do have to connect the ethernet cable before turning on your Pi, I had that confusion as well.

      I suspect it’s one of these two issues if AirPlay options aren’t showing up at all. Let me know if that helps.

      • Matt Lu

        Ah, thank you. I am sure this is the issue then. I was doing this at work, and the wireless is pretty secure. I’ll use my wireless at home and see if it works. Thanks!
        Unfortunately, the ultimate goal of my project will have to work without wireless… is there any Bluetooth solution?

      • I’ve never used Bluetooth with any sort of AirPlay-like functionality(except music, of course, but that wasn’t using AirPlay) and was tempted to answer no, but after a couple Google searches it seems there is some sort of functionality that uses Bluetooth. I didn’t look into it too much, and it appears that it’s mostly for finding the device to pair, but I’ll continue to research that and see if it’s a possibility. I’d be interested if you figure anything out.

  2. Unrender

    Hi,

    I’ve the same problem than Matt.
    I’ve tried with Raspbian and Xbian but I don’t see any AirPlay icon on my iPhone 5…

    Another idea to fix it ?

    Regards.

    • Unrender,

      I assume you already made sure your Pi and iPhone were on the same network as I mentioned to Matt??

      My other first thought is to ensure rPlay is running. You can manually start and stop it with the following commands:

      sudo /etc/init.d/rplay start
      sudo /etc/init.d/rplay stop

      VMLite warns against starting rPlay if it’s already been started, that it will cause problems, so be aware of that.

      • Unrender

        Yes of course. The Pi and the iPhone are on the same network.
        I can connect to the Pi from my iPhone using SSH without any problem.

        And rPlay is running. I’ve tried to stop it and start it again manually. I’ve even tried to reboot the Pi (and the router), but nothing fix the problem.

      • That’s strange. I’m not sure what it might be, then. Perhaps you have security features on your router/network that prevent AirPlay? I know almost no one has managed to get things working on secure school/work networks.

        Otherwise if you carefully followed each step with no errors, I’m baffled. Let me know what the solution is when you find it. Check out the VMLite forums too, there’s a fair amount of information in them. Someone probably has the same problem.

  3. rPlay shows up as an option for me but when I select it says “Could not connect to “rPlay(raspberrypi)”

    My network supports airplay as I use it with raspbmc

    • I tried out chrome cast using the youtube app on my iPhone 5 and it worked perfectly

      • It’s working now, no idea what I did, macbook air 2013 mirrored and extended desktop, pretty laggy though, raspberry and macbook on wifi. The crazy thing is that my monitor is 1080p but it lets me choose 2560×1440, sure, it’s a little pixelated but the extra screen estate is great.

      • Glad you got it working. You may not have done anything; I’ve noticed sometimes the network gets clogged up or briefly disconnected. Often just waiting a few minutes or resetting your router or Pi gets things back up.

      • Excellent! I’ve downloaded the app and intend to test it and update the tutorial soon. Thanks!

  4. kekskruemel

    Does rplay allow 1080p mirroring, or is it simple upscaled 720p ?

    Also does it convert 5.1 to stereo or push it as 5.1 to rplay ?

    Thx & Greetings

  5. nhallowell02

    l Cant login into the admin page to register my key

    • Have you figured out what your bug was yet? I’d say to make sure the internet connection is good, and that if you’re trying to access the admin page from a separate computer, that it’s on the same network as the Pi and you get your IP correct. What happens when you try to access the admin page?

    • please don’t use Safari, there is a bug. Try IE/chrome/Firefox

  6. Emanuele

    I followed the instructions: I have to say that I do not have yet a license (I asked for one but still pending…). But the audio should work anyway according to the description. Well, if I try to send audio from iTunes (11.1.1) it says that the version of AirPlay is not compatible with this iTunes. If I try it with the iPhone (7.0.1) it does not appear in the list of devices (I am sure that I am on the same network).
    I think the AirPlay protocol is significantly different in the latest implementations and probably it requires some changes.
    Thanks anyway for the excellent post.

    • Emanuele, those are almost identical to the problems I’ve had since the iOS 7 update. I’m hoping to find a fix for it now, but I’m also wondering if we’ll need to wait on VMLite to update. I note this at the very top of the tutorial and in the troubleshooting section. Sorry you’re having similar bugs. Check your AirPlay menu every so often; rPlay shows up occasionally for me, and usually works at those times.

      • Emanuele

        I did some additional test: the rplay (raspberrypi) appears randomly on my iPhone (iOS7) but it never works. I tried also with an iPod Touch with iOS 6 where the Raspberry appears always but also there I am not able to play anything. When I select the Pi the player starts and stops after 2 seconds. It is the same problem that I have with iTunes, but in iTunes I get the message about the incorrect version of AirPlay server.
        I don’t know how to debug more because rplay does not generate any logfile (or I wasn’t able to find them).

    • That is odd that it doesn’t work when your Pi does appear in AirPlay, I haven’t seen that problem. I think at this point we’re mostly waiting on a new release of rPlay, these bugs are very common and probably just beta issues that will need to be resolved.

      VMLite admits including log files would have been a good idea and says they will be in the next release. In the meantime they suggest running rplay in the foreground:

      sudo /etc/init.d/rplay stop
      sudo /usr/bin/rplay

  7. Rich

    This seems to work really well. One issue though, some of my videos from my iPhone play upside down – the ones I have recorded myself. When I play them on my Apple TV they are the correct way up. Anyone know a fix??

    • That is interesting, I didn’t play any if my own videos. I wonder if the orientation of your device has anything to do with it’s orientation on the screen?

      • Rich

        Yes, it will have done, but my Apple TV corrects this automatically and always displays the video the correct way up regardless of which way it was actually recorded. Any suggestions on how to have rPlay do this too?? As the videos are kinda unwatchable upside down :)

  8. Chris

    Can I juse Rplay unter XBMC, because the implentaded Airplay in XBMC could not make Airplay Mirroring.
    Should i install first of all Raspbmc, then Rplay, and after this XBMC?
    When i install XBMC first of all, there is no commanddesk to install Rplay after XBMC

    Chris

    • Chris, I haven’t done it myself, but I have heard others have used rPlay successfully with Raspbmc. You’ll have to let us know if you have any problems once XBMC is fully installed, I don’t know the details of it.

      • Alex

        Hey,
        thanks for the great informations here!

        Well i have tested rPlay on my raspbmc newest version 12.2 with my iPad mini newest version 7.1 and it works not perfect.

        1. After installation and registration the rPlay button didn´t show up on my iPad mini, only the XBMC (raspberry) was shown.
        I tried it with an other name for the rPlay (raspberry) which is standard in the admin settings, i named it rPlay (mirror) and then i found it on my iPad.
        This step i have to do every time when i loose connection between RPi and iPad mini or when i just reboot! Otherwise i can´t find the button/icon for mirroring.

        2. When starting mirroring i didn´t see anything on my TV. After waiting a few minutes it appears on the background with the raspbmc menu in it.
        I found out, that it only starts when the screensaver starts. But then it works very good with the only problem that there is the menu in it.

        If somebody knows a solution for that issues, please let me know.

        I hope that this informations are helpful.

        With best regards
        Alex

  9. Sandra

    Hey Guys, I’m Sandra from Germany and I really would like to have a licKey, but nobody answears my question. Could anybody help me? THANK YOU :)

    • Sandra, the best ways to get a license key are to email info@vmlite.com, or register on the vmlite.com forums and post to one of the license key requesting threads with your email address. I mention this near the top of the tutorial as well. Good luck!

  10. Christian Weber

    Hello
    is there anybody, who had an image with Raspbmc XBMC and RPay funktion. I had an key for myself, or could i use this one time.
    Greetings Chris

  11. Harry

    When I click on rplay on my iPod (ios7) it goes back straight away to my iPod and I can’t mirror or do anything with it help!!

    • Hi Harry, this indicates there is something wrong with your license key, make sure you enter a valid key, no spaces.

    • Kubs

      Hi Harry,

      I had the same issue, what I’ve done was just turn off wifi on Apple device and reboot of Raspberry PI. Now it works great. I have tested mirroring on Galaxy on Fire II – very pleased.

    • David Peterson

      Just curious if anyone knows how long the license keys are valid? I get the same problem, but turning off wireless on the iPad, and rebooting the rpi didn’t help. I rebuilt from scratch on the RPI, no joy. I was also testing rplay on the iPad. I uninstalled it, hoping that there was some sort of problem with both running. They both worked for several days before this happened.

      • So far I haven’t heard any word on the beta ending yet, but I would like to follow up with the creators on that. I’d love to see a completed version released, that will hopefully eliminate some of the issues. I haven’t tested mine thoroughly in a while, but the performance has been a bit spotty since iOS7 was released, from what I’ve seen.

        In response to your other question, I believe AirPlay relies on a wifi connection to function, which would probably be challenging to set up direct connections for on a RPi. That would be pretty impressive, though.

      • David Peterson

        BHale… Thanks for the response. It is nice to hear your thoughts.

      • Of course. Wish I could be of more help.

  12. Does this work with Mavericks’ new Airplay extension feature? I’m in a sticky situation in that my Mac mini is sitting in one room (and used there often), but occasionally needs to be used in another room. I figured this would be a cheaper alternative to ethernet–>HDMI adapters as I already own a RPi. Latency isn’t an issue – it would only be for watching films and casual youtube surfing.

    • It should, yes. My Macbook is just older than the ones capable of mirroring, so I haven’t experimented with it myself. It’s probably worth noting that iOS 7, and similarly Mavericks, has introduced some bugs into using rPlay smoothly. If you give it a shot, please let us know how it goes!

  13. LagaV

    Great stuff – thank!

    I needed some time to understand, that

    “sudo youtube-dl –update”

    should be

    “sudo youtube-dl –update”

    • Thank you for pointing that out, and I apologize for the confusion. Apparently WordPress automatically formats doubly hyphens into an em hyphen. Actually took some doing to figure out how to get around it, but I fixed it!

  14. David Peterson

    I am wondering if it would be possible to have several iPads mirrored at the same time (in their own “tiles”)? I am thinking classroom management.

    • That would be pretty impressive! Seems to me that normal Airplay pushes the RPi’s capability a bit and multiple feeds would be beyond it’s abilities, but I’ve been surprised before. Maybe the guys at VMLite will figure that out…at this point I imagine solidifying Airplay from one source is the priority.

      • David Peterson

        Ah, I haven’t done anything with rPlay or Rpi. Maybe the solutioin I speak of would need “something” more than a RPi… I speak from a point lacking in experience or knowledge. Just musing…

  15. David Peterson

    Maybe this has been answered/asked, but does the iPad/rPlay traffic need to go out through the network to get routed to the RPi? I am thinking of a school full of classrooms that all have rPi’s. I was thinking that if the AirPlay traffic could be limited from iPad directly to local RPi, then network traffic could be reduced. Is this possible?

  16. I am trying following your guide… I’ll let you know!

  17. Marlon

    Hi there,
    Im having a problem entering the key, after typing http://:7100/admin I get “Firefox can’t establish a connection to the server” the same happens with Chrome. and for some reason I can’t login to Rasberry pi as the password isn’t recognised. (weird!!)

    Any help would be great.
    Marlon

  18. Jason

    Thanks for the tutorial. Super helpful. I’ve got rPlay up and running and it’s flawless as far as audio goes. Mirroring works very well on my iphone 5s as well. Photos display no problem.

    However, video struggles. By struggles I mean does not work. I’ve tried both with and without mirroring but can’t get video to play, either native on mt iphone or streamed from another source. YouTube videos play, but without audio. The native movie on my iphone plays the audio through the pi, but the video on the iPhone. Every other video just doesn’t load on the pi.

    I have only a 256MB model, could that be the problem? Although candy crush for example works beautifully through mirroring, audio and all.

    Not sure what the issue is, but any help or suggestions would be appreciated!

    • Hey Jason, the smaller RAM could be affecting performance, VMLite has suggested using the newer Pi model, but I’m not sure in what ways or if your symptoms are what one would expect in that situation. I know most people have noted that video is frequently not so great at this point, with rPlay. I’ve seen the most success with pushing YouTube videos to the Pi, sans mirroring. I usually can’t touch the video if I want it to function right, but it typically will play. If I remember right local videos worked OK, not smoothly.

      • Jason

        Thanks so much for the quick reply. I figured the RAM was the likely problem. Oh well. At least I have mirroring for some apps and music.

        How does rPlay work on the 512MB model B as far as video and mirroring? Would it be worth getting one to use for rPlay?

      • Assuming the differences are due to our different models, my experience has been as described in my last comment and towards the end of the tutorial. I think upgrading is up to you and what it’s worth to you, naturally you’d likely enjoy the better features, and they aren’t too expensive.

        I’m hoping to take some time over the holidays to find some more bug fixes and see what I else I can find out about rPlay’s development progress.

  19. Mehmed

    I am having trouble mirroring video/pictures from my 5s, although sound from the youtube app works. Any troubleshooting ideas for this?

  20. Marlon

    Hi there,
    after reinstall i can mirror to the TV from iPhone iOS 7.0.4 but its transparent so I can see the XMBC UI behind the mirroring. And no audio. Does anyone have any ideas how to fix this?
    Thanks,
    Marlon.

    • hplodur

      Hi Marlon,

      I had the same problem with sound. Are you getting alas error messages while starting the relay through the init.d? If son then it means that sound driver has not been loaded. You can check it by running:

      # lsmod | grep snd_bcm2835

      If there are no results simply load the driver:

      # sudo modprobe snd-bcm2835

      (to have driver loaded at boot insert and-bcm2835 into /etc/modules)

      This should do the trick. If you will still be lacking audio then set output device

      # sudo amixer cset numid=3 2

      where 2 stands for HDMI (if you are using analog then replace 2 with 1).

      If you are getting the following error message:

      ALSA lib pcm.c:2217:(snd_pcm_open_noupdate) Unknown PCM cards.pcm.front

      then edit /usr/share/alsa/alsa.conf and modify the line pcm.front cards.pcm.front to pcm.front cards.pcm.default

  21. hplodur

    hi,

    i have been able to successfully set up airplay mirroring as a extended desktop for my macbook pro, unfortunately the way that i can achieve that is a pain in the… to be able to run extended desktop i have to disable the native XBCM airplay (rplay process needs to be running in the background). after that XBMC needs to be disabled and i can see extended desktop. everything is working but:

    1. if the native XBMC airplay is disabled I cannot detect airplay device (only on my mac, youtube app on iphone is working even if the airplay is disabled). is there easier way to achieve that?

    2. is there a way to push the rplay display on top of XBMC?

    I’m running os x mavericks

    thanks,
    hplodur

    • Hey hplodur,

      Thanks for your help solving that other issue.

      Unfortunately, I haven’t tried running rplay on XBMC, though I’d like to try that out once I have a bit more time on my hands. Were you ever able to figure things out?

  22. NJD

    Running Rasbian and finally got the Mirroring to work, albeit slow. However the Airplay menu does not show up on my iPad 2 7.0.4 or iPhone 5S 7.0.4 – I’ve tried restarting all, disconnecting Wifi, nothing seems to work. Anyone else running into this?

    Also, iTunes on my 10.9 won’t connect to rPlay. I keep receiving the error: An error occurred while connecting to the AirPlay device “rPlay”. An unknown error occurred (-42091).

    Thanks for your help.

    • Hi, sorry for the slow response, I haven’t been able to dedicate much time to this for a while.

      Have you seen rPlay show up on your devices/occasionally work ever?? In my experience, the reliability is very low with this beta. I’ve emailed the creators, and they suggest that they’re hard at work creating a release version, but could still be months out. At this point I’m sort of just waiting for that. If summer rolls around and they still haven’t produced, I’ll probably tinker some more.

  23. Pingback: The Joy of rPlay (or not) | John Aldred

  24. al

    great work! always works fine with just installed rplay on raspian.
    should it work with openenelec and rasplex?

    thanx for your support.

  25. Your style is so unique in comparison to other folks I’ve read stuff from.
    Many thanks for posting when you’ve got the opportunity, Guess I will just bookmark this blog.

  26. I’m trying to use rPlay with iOS 7.1, but for now no success.
    The rPlay server is up and running and visible from the device, but when i try to connect – it just disconnects me either at the moment or when i try to play some media.

    For youtube tested on both iOS and Android – it doesnt seems to work.

    All this i try without a license key for rPlay. I know mirroring requires it, but as i understood – media streaming does not require such.

    However i have requested a license key and now i’m waiting to see if the problem comes from this.

    • Did you get that license key?

      I can’t say I’ve seen the disconnecting issue similar to yours, but at this point I’m mostly waiting on a full release version of rPlay to come out. The guys at VMLite say it’s still a few months out but they’re working on it. The beta has been fun, but the reliability is fairly low.

      Have you tried just native music or photos on your phone? Netflix doesn’t work, and YouTube can be a bit shoddy.

  27. I got my key today and apparently the issue was related to it.

    Mirroring and sound are working fine, however the video does not seems to work – neither from Video app, neither from camera roll.
    It either displays a black screen or just nothing.
    From device perspective – the video is played over AirPlay.

    Youtube works from iOS device, but from Android still does not.

    iTunes (11.1.5) from my Mac gives some error.
    An error occurred while connecting to the AirPlay device “rplay (raspberrypi)”. An unknown error occurred (-42091).

    And Probably the most great and unexpected feature was that it supports AirPlay Display – using it as a second monitor from my Mac. Supports Mirroring and Extending.
    This was unexpected to me, because i don’t know if it is the same feature as iOS Mirroring.

    • Interesting that the license made such a difference, in theory it shouldn’t. I never used rplay w/o it, so I can’t say from experience.

      It sounds like you’re getting roughly the results I and most others have seem at this point. I’ve seen better results than that connecting my macbook, I’ll have to see if I can’t figure out why that is sometime.

      Very cool about the external monitor function, I’ll definitely have to try that out!

  28. Pingback: Screen Mirroring with Raspberry Pi | ALVAROM

  29. HI, done everything as per the tutorial, but can’t log in to the login page. no username/password combination. i have tried everything and a bit frustrated

  30. Alemela

    I’ve just installed rplay in my pi, and I’m pretty impressed but I’ve serious issues with videos and music from my iphone 4s. They are reproduced with a big lag and only in pieces. Songs from iphone’s library only cause noise in the tv and once it left my tv frozen! I had to un-plug the power cord of the tv and settle it back for having all working again. On the other hand, does someone know how to made rplay on an ad-hoc network between the pi and the phone? I’ve installed a dhcp server in the pi and successfully paired iphone with it but the air play button is not shown in the phone…

    BR,

    Alemela

    • Homerjr43

      See my post below. I use the wifi hot spot feature on my iphone 5s, and i can get rplay to work about 50% of the time. I let the phone run the DHCP server and give my pi an IP address.

  31. Homerjr43

    I am having intermittent problems getting the rplay to work. My setup includes an iphone 5s with 7.04 jailbroken and the pi with Raspbian wheezy.

    I have the pi installed in my car and displaying on an 8inch LCD in my dash. to get everything up and running, I turn on wifi hotspot on my phone, and wait for the Pi to connect to my wifi. I used the wifi config app to setup this connection. Once the Pi connects to the wifi hotspot, rplay with mirroring should work. Unfortuantely, it only works about 50% of the time…I am geting frustrated, because there does not seem to be any reason why it works or doesnt work.

    Any help? If I can get this to work, it will be slick to have the iphone always mirrored to the LCD in my dash.

    Thanks!
    Homerjr43

  32. Alson

    sudo apt-get install libao-dev avahi-utils libavahi-compat-libdnssd-dev libva-dev youtube-dl

    i con’t install all for this , i try to the sudo apt-get -f install but it not word , how i can install it ?THX

  33. Pingback: Raspberry PI and iOS device air-play mirror | Garys blog

  34. lachlan

    when my pi turns on i get this warning that says, “The program ‘rplay’ uses the Apple Bonjure compatibility layer of Avahi. Warning please fix your application to use the native API of Avahi!’

  35. PokerVoVo.com Judi Poker Online

    I constantly emailed this website post page to all my friends, since if like to read
    it then my friends will too.

  36. Pingback: TSLS – Luke Smith » Setup Raspberry Pi – Using Wolfson DAC for rPlay and Squeezelite

  37. I have an appleTV on my network, and when I run rPlay (which works fine) the apple TV disappears from my airplay options on iPad and iPhone. Is there a way for rPlay to be configured as an audio only service (so that it appears with a speaker icon in my airplay menu, as opposed to a screen icon, and with no option for mirroring)? I want to put a few of these around my house, but only for audio.

  38. For some reason my iphone 5s detects the pi but my macbook pro with OSX 10.9.4 does not. Any ideas?

    • Besides being on the same wifi and making sure your software is up to date, nothing off the top of my head. Things tend to go in and out for most people.

      I’ve tried contacting VMLite about a release version of rPlay, no word yet.

    • Older MacBooks don’t support airplay, check the spec.

  39. Just released our Windows sender program, rDisplay, that can mirror Windows to rPlay:

    http://www.vmlite.com/index.php?option=com_kunena&Itemid=158&func=view&catid=25&id=18017

  40. Rest for sure, we are actively developing rPlay for Raspberry Pi. I knew it’s taking too much time, but we will release updates for sure. Stay tuned.

    • Great to know, I was getting concerned. I’m an engineering student myself and understand these things can take time.

      • Thanks, the biggest reason is to support other platforms and boards. We will fully support the new comer, Banana Pi, which can do Chromecast very nicely. More info here on bpi: http://www.bananapi.com

        For those of you who haven’t bought Raspberry Pi, I recommend Banana Pi, much more powerful with more extensions.

Leave a Reply

